Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Here's the thing
26 août 2010

Thrifting

In Spain, there are no actual thrift stores (well, not that I know of) and it frustrates quite badly ...
But lby searching my friend the Internet, I found out that there were some Emmaus stores here, including two not far from my house! Emaus stores were created by the Abbé Pierre to reintegrate unemployed people or homeless. They come to your house if you want to get rid of thing and then fix it and sell it.

So I dragged my sister in law in that store. Who, by the way, told me that the second hand stuff did not do too much here. Not that it's frowned upon but a bit anyway. It's seen like "I have no money to buy new stuff". But Gijon is quite a bourgeois city so perhaps than elsewhere in Spain people thrift more.

So, the result of my day:
I was disappointed by the clothes (I admit that I was looking for vintage clothing, seventies style. Well, they don't have that) and furniture were either completely old or were new stuff Ikea style (I was also was looking for furniture of the '70s, re-deception).
But I've had some good finds thought:

chouette_pola
Pretty pretty owl


miroir_pola
A big miror that I'm going to paint

cruche_pola
A pitcher

machine_pola
And a working typewritter!
(I've been typing like crazy last evening)


Overall, I am pretty happy with my day and I think I'll get back regularly to find some more treasures!


En Espagne, il n'y a pas de marchés aux puces à proprement parler (enfin pas que je saches) et cela me frustre quand même pas mal...
Mais en cherchant bien avec mon ami Internet, j'ai découvert qu'il y avait quelques Emmaus ici, dont deux pas loin de chez moi! J'y ai donc trainé ma belle-soeur. Qui m'a dit au passage que les trucs de seconde main ne se faisaient pas trop ici. Ce n'est pas que c'est mal vu mais un peu quand même. Ça fait genre "j'ai pas de sous pour m'acheter des affaires neuves". Enfin Gijon est une ville assez bourgeoise donc peut-être qu'autre part en Espagne cela se fait plus.

Résultat des courses:
J'ai été déçue par les vêtements (j'avoue que je cherchais des vêtements vintage seventies, ben ya pas) et les meubles faisaient soit totalement vieillots soit c'étaient du contreplaqué (là je cherchais des meubles aussi dans le style années 70, re-déception).
Mais quelques trouvailles tout de meme en photo plus haut.
Au final, je suis assez contente de ma journée et je pense y retourner régulièrement à la recherche de la bonne affaire!

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Here's the thing
Publicité
Here's the thing
Publicité